Every Exquisite Thing

Author(s): Matthew Quick

Young Adult

From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, comes EVERY EXQUISITE THING, a quirky and deeply moving novel about a teen's journey through love, rebellion and belonging. For readers who love John Green and Rainbow Rowell. 'Books like Quick's are necessary' New York Times Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper - the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic - the rebel within Nanette awakens. As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price. A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.

$16.99(AUD) RRP $17.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
2

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Original, compelling, uplifting. Quick celebrates the power of ordinary, flawed human beings to rescue themselves and each other. His writing is shot through with wit and humanity and an ultimately optimistic view of people, without ever becoming sentimental -- Graeme Simsion, author of THE ROSIE PROJECT A shrewd reconfiguring of the American Dream, in which freedom opens the door not to monetary riches but to self-discovery Financial Times Quick creates beautifully well-rounded characters, particularly Nanette, whose first-person narrative, rich with wry observations and a kaleidoscope of meaningful emotions, offers great insight into the mind of a teen on a sometimes sluggish, spiraling path toward sorting herself out Booklist Quick's nuanced story of rebellion and its cost will appeal to fans of Stephen Chbosky and John Green School Library Journal Quick continues to excel at writing thought-provoking stories about nonconformity... [he] paints a compelling portrait of a sympathetic teenager going through the trial-and-error process of growing up. Publishers Weekly A strong, well-written female protagonist sets this coming-of-age novel apart Kirkus All of the elements of this novel work together to make this an outstanding coming-of-age story Voya Simply exquisite...captivating...touching and relatable...a wonderful heroine...Quick's latest is amazing Winnipeg Free Press Books like Quick's are necessary New York Times A very real and affecting story -- Graeme Simsion Transfixed me from the opening line to the last -- Annabel Pitcher

Matthew Quick (aka Q) is the New York Times bestselling author of several novels, including THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, which was made into an Oscar-winning film. His work has been translated into thirty languages and has received a PEN/Hemingway Award Honorable Mention. Q lives with his wife, novelist/pianist Alicia Bessette, on North Carolina's Outer Banks.

General Fields

  • : 9781472229571
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Book Publishing
  • : February 2017
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 18mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Matthew Quick
  • : Paperback
  • : 417
  • : en
  • : 813.6
  • : 272